2013 In Review: Never Work.. Do What You LOVE!

Seeing how it’s been a very busy year for me and I haven’t done much writing on any of my sites (I know, shame on me), I figured I would share my 2013 In Review report with you all along with some advice for startups, freelancers, entrepreneurs, and small businesses alike.  The stats are not by any means stellar unless you consider that I have been posting to this blog about 1-3 times a month whereas in previous years I updated Yomar.me weekly, if not daily (it was quite a grind alongside everything else).  This year, I’ve been testing the waters further with audio and video..  I am enjoying myself much more, even though I love to write.

Interestingly enough, while I have scaled back social media efforts and blogging here, I have been posting more regularly to my Yogizilla-branded Tumblr and DuelPassOnline.com, where I mainly share fun geeky stuff like gaming and anime.  The response has been great, which has shown me that this marketing/business space is rather crowded and I really need to focus more on my roots: gaming and technology..  As well as creative writing.  Expect just that in 2014!

Now for the recap!  The WordPress.com stats helper monkeys prepared a 2013 annual report for this blog.  I hear the monkeys are trained properly, thus very little fecal matter has been transferred to the reports.  Good to know – poop is only good in controlled environments or with proper presentation..  Just ask Sony or Apple (sorry, I could not resist).

Here’s an excerpt:

A New York City subway train holds 1,200 people. This blog was viewed about 7,600 times in 2013. If it were a NYC subway train, it would take about 6 trips to carry that many people.

Click here to see the complete report.

Do These Numbers Matter?

What The numbers Really Mean?

I love facts and figures but I warn all content marketers, curators, and creatives to not get TOO stuck in them.  Metrics of engagement are much more valuable, but they can also be tougher to measure.  Views are great but what happens after them is even more important.

For me, the inherent value of any blog is that it is a discovery process.  I’ve said this before but it’s worth repeating that this discovery helps us find out what we truly care about while, at the same time, determining what our audiences really enjoy most.  The best blog posts are often sweet accidents where you suddenly get tons of engagement and realize, “Hey, this is really something I should share more often and dig deeper into!”  All it takes is that one blog post to kick off your next video game, video series, webinar, podcast, book, etc.

What I’ve found this year is that I’ve had far less views/impressions, but more subscribers, email messages, and conversions into other social platforms/lead capture.  I’m very happy with these results.  What this tells me is that I am hitting more niche market segments without pandering or forcing a fit.  What this means to you:

Create your own waves..  Or ride them, if you prefer.  In other words, do you want to be a leader or a follower?

Being a leader takes a lot of courage.  You may not see results right away, if ever.  You may ruffle some feathers.  It doesn’t really matter if you’re doing what you love and truly dig what you do.

I know, I know, this sounds cliche but it’s true what they say: if you love what you do, you never work a day in your life.  I’ve slacked a bit this year when it comes to social media immersion but I’ve had better results, felt less stressed, and accomplished more goals.  There’s something to be said about doing less and getting more.

So, as we go into 2014, ask yourself:

  • Is my current social media (or simply blog) strategy sustainable?
  • Am I focusing on the right things or just busy work?
  • What are the results that really matter and excite me?
  • Am I pursuing sponsorships or affiliate marketing?  Do my goals, results, and voice match this intent?

The last one is the killer.  If you’re not worried about sponsorships, endorsement deals, or affiliate marketing, your freedom is much greater.  I find that many times we limit ourselves and put up barriers that make no sense, such as acting like national television is the only way to go or being afraid to speak our minds due to PR nightmares.  Authenticity is a beautiful thing.  Of course, a filter and some courtesy is always nice, but let’s stop worrying about every little detail.

This rant all boils down to the issues people have with shipping for the sake of having huge launches.  Seth Godin says launching is over-rated (it’s true, just check out the Startup School podcast series).  What he is saying is that we over-think stuff to the point of analysis paralysis.  We either focus on the easy stuff (mere busy work) or the wrong stuff.

For example, many of us feel that the hard part of our business ventures is finding customers or improving product quality.  Those are often the easy parts.  The hard parts are focusing on the right products or finding new products with existing needs to fulfill.  This varies from organization to organization but, essentially, we need to transform how we perceive the challenges and opportunities out there.

Most importantly, it’s better to do something than to sit back and think things through further.  Let’s make 2014 a year where we all get excited about what we’re doing and see unlimited opportunity at every turn!

2 thoughts on “2013 In Review: Never Work.. Do What You LOVE!

    • Right on! I mean, the days where I get tens or hundreds of thousands of hits are nice but I prefer deeper engagement and doing what I truly love rather than pandering, yanno?

Join the party - start a conversation TODAY!

